Billy Eichner
Subscribe To
Out Magazine
Scroll To Top

The Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association (GALECA) 2013 Nominees

The Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association (GALECA) 2013 Nominees

Recognizing the best, the campiest and the most unsung accomplishments in television and cinema, the Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association (GALECA) announced nominations for the 2013 Dorian Awards today. Award season favorites 12 Years a Slave, American Hustle and Dallas Buyers Club nabbed multiple nominations, but a few unusual candidates earned recognition.

James Franco's stint as Alien, a rapper and drug dealer in Spring Breakers, earned him nominations for both Film Performance of the Year by an actor and Wilde Artist of the Year. Guess the "Consider this Shit," campaign is starting to pay off. Just last month, Franco and Jared Leto tied for the Los Angeles Film Critics Association's Best Supporting Actor award. Leto, who plays a transgender woman afflicted by AIDS in Dallas Buyers Club, already won a Golden Globe for his performance.

Both Franco and Leto will fight it out with Leonardo DiCaprio, Chiwetel Ejiofor and Matthew McConaughey for GALECA's top acting prize for a movie actor. On the women's side, Sandra Bullock, Judi Dench, Cate Blanchett, Adele Exarchopoulos, and Lupita Nyong'o will battle it out.

The biopic Kill Your Darlings nabbed nominations for Unsung Film or the Year and LGBT Film of the Year. Starring Daniel Radcliffe, the film follows poets of the beat generation navigating through sex, murder and Columbia University. 

Jessica Lange, who has already won two Dorian Awards, is up again for her work in American Horror Story. Her performance of “The Name Game,” in American Horror Story: Asylum earned the legend another nomination for TV Musical Performance for the Year.  Accordingly, Jane Krakowski’s profound performance of the Rural Juror theme song on 30 Rock and Neil Patrick Harris’ performance during the Tony Awards were also nominated. 

GALECA’s campy categories included nominations for Sharknado, August: Osage County, and The Canyons, starring Lindsey Lohan. This year’s Timeless Award will go to newlywed Lily Tomlin for her exceptional acting career. 

See the full nominations listed below.


Film of the Year
American Hustle
Blue is the Warmest Color
Dallas Buyers Club
Laurence Anyways
12 Years a Slave

Film Performance of the Year - Actor
Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street 
Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave 
James Franco, Spring Breakers
Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club 
Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club 

Film Performance of the Year - Actress
Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine 
Sandra Bullock, Gravity 
Judi Dench, Philomena 
Adele Exarchopoulos, Blue is the Warmest Color
Lupita Nyong'o, 12 Years a Slave 

LGBT Film of the Year
Blue is the Warmest Color 
Dallas Buyers Club
Kill Your Darlings 
Laurence Anyways

Foreign Language Film of the Year
Blue is the Warmest Color 
The Great Beauty 
The Hunt 
I'm So Excited!
Laurence Anyways
Out in the Dark

Documentary of the Year
The Act of Killing 
I Am Divine 
20 Feet from Stardom 

Campy Flick of the Year
August: Osage County
The Canyons
The Great Gatsby 
I'm So Excited! 

Unsung Film of the Year
Frances Ha
In A World . . .
Kill Your Darlings 
Short Term 12
The Spectacular Now 

Visually Striking Film of the Year
Inside Llewyn Davis 
Laurence Anyways 
The Great Gatsby 

TV Drama of the Year
American Horror Story: Coven 
Behind the Candelabra 
Breaking Bad 
Mad Men 
Orange is the New Black 

TV Comedy of the Year
The Big Bang Theory 
Getting On 
Ja'mie: Private School Girl 
Modern Family 

TV Performance of the Year - Actor
Bryan Cranston, Breaking Bad
Michael Douglas, Behind the Candelabra
Jon Hamm, Mad Men 
Jim Parsons, The Big Bang Theory 
Kevin Spacey, House of Cards 

TV Performance of the Year - Actress
Vera Farmiga, Bates Motel 
Jessica Lange, American Horror Story: Coven
Tatiana Maslany, Orphan Black 
Taylor Schilling, Orange is the New Black 
Kerry Washington, Scandal 
Robin Wright, House of Cards

TV Musical Performance of the Year
Shirley Bassey, "Goldfinger," 82nd Academy Awards
Neil Patrick Harris, "Bigger," 67th Annual Tony Awards 
Jane Krakowski, "Theme from Rural Juror," 30 Rock 
Jessica Lange and cast, "The Name Game," American Horror Story: Asylum 
Lea Michele, "To Make You Feel My Love," Glee

LGBT TV Show of the Year
Behind the Candelabra 
Modern Family
Orange is the New Black
RuPaul's Drag Race 

Campy TV Show of the Year
American Horror Story: Coven 
Behind the Candelabra 
House of Versace 

Unsung TV Show of the Year
The Carrie Diaries 
Cougar Town 
Getting On 
Orphan Black

The We're Wilde About You
Adele Exarchopoulos
Dane DeHaan
Laverne Cox
Lupita Nyong’o
Tatiana Maslany

Wilde Wit of the Year
Rachel Maddow
Bill Maher
Kate McKinnon
Dan Savage
Amy Schumer

Wilde Artist of the Year
Alfonso Cuaron
Xavier Dolan
James Franco
Spike Jonze
Steve McQueen

Timeless Award
Lily Tomlin

Tags: Popnography

From our Sponsors

    Watch Now: Advocate Channel
    Trending Stories & News

    For more news and videos on, click here.