Search form

Scroll To Top
Truman Says

Tom Ford, Pharrell, Hood by Air, and Betsey Johnson Win Big at 2015 CFDA Awards

CFDA Awards 2015

No surprise here: Anna Wintour's favorites always win.

Pictured, from top left: Tom Ford; Dao-Yi Chao and Maxwell Osborne of Public School with Jenna Lyons (left) and Prabal Gurung (center); Kim Kardashian; Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen; Kanye West and Pharrell Williams, and Shayne Oliver (Hood by Air).

The Council of Fashion Designers of America held its annual CFDA awards ceremony at Alice Tully Hall, in New York, on Monday, to honor those who keep the US fashion scene somewhat interesting.

The stars were out: Kanye West presented the Fashion Icon of the Year award to Pharrell Williams (last year, it went to a very nude Rihanna), while his wife Kim Kardashian presented the Media Award to... Instagram. Selfie!

Williams credited his fashion sense to early days of DIY customizing with Chuck Taylor Converse sneakers as inspiration. "Freedom is whatever you want it to be," he said.

The award for Menswear Designer of the Year was presented to Tom Ford by Dawson's Creek survivor Joshua Jackson, and Shayne Oliver of Hood By Air won the Swarovski Award for emerging menswear designers after losing to Tim Coppens last year.

Living legend Betsey Johnson received the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award for her enduring influence on the industry.

Finally, Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen won the Womenswear Designer of the Year award for their label The Row.

The full 2015 CFDA Fashion Awards show and red carpet coverage hosted by Kelly Osbourne will be broadcast on on Tuesday, June 2.

Advocate Channel - The Pride StoreOut / Advocate Magazine - Fellow Travelers & Jamie Lee Curtis

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

Julien Sauvalle