Search form

Scroll To Top
Truman Says

Public School and Altuzarra Win CFDA 'Designer of the Year' Awards


Plus: Rihanna goes nude, Tom Ford receives Lifetime Achievement award

Pictured, clockwise from left: Rihanna on the red carpet, Lupita Nyong'o and Joseph Altuzarra, John Waters, Tom Ford, Dao Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne (Public School) with James Marsden, Bethann Hardison with Iman and Naomi Campbell.

On Monday, the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) handed out the 2014 CFDA Fashion Awards (aka, the "Oscars" of fashion) at Alice Tully Hall, Lincoln Center. Host John Waters introduced Lupita Nyong'o, who presented Joseph Altuzarra with the Womenswear Designer of the Year award. Actor James Marsden gave the award for Menswear Designer of the Year to rising stars Maxwell Osborne & Dao-Yi Chow of Public School. The Olsen twins, Mary-Kate and Ashley, won the Accessories Designer of the Year Award for their label The Row.

Glowing in a nude gown by Adam Selman, Rihanna received with the Fashion Icon award from Vogue editor-in-chief Anna Wintour, who praised the singer for her bold fashion choices. Rihanna thanked the members of the audience: "The designers, the models, and everyone else who has inspired me."

[iframe,288 height=288 width=512]

The highlight of the night was an emotional presentation to honor Bethann Hardison, former model and activist, who received the Founder's Award for her efforts to promote racial diversity in the fashion industry. "Tonight, we celebrated creativity, experience, and conviction by honoring the diversity and vibrancy of individuals who define the influence of the fashion industry," said CFDA President Diane von Furstenberg. After a live tribute featuring sixteen models of color in Diane von Furstenberg dresses, Naomi Campbell took the stage to pay homage to Hardison for advocating diversity on the runway.

INTERVIEW How Bethann Hardison Changed The Face of Fashion

The three Swarovski Awards, which honor and recognize emerging talent, went to Shane Gabier and Christopher Peters (Creatures of the Wind) for womenswear. Belgian talent Tim Coppens won in the menswear category, and Irene Neuwirth received the award for accessory design.

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Tom Ford by his husband, Richard Buckley, rewarding the designer's consistent influence on fashion. Raf Simons, creative director of Christian Dior, was recognized with this year's International Designer Award, presented by Marion Cotillard. The Media Award for excellence in fashion journalism went to Paul Cavaco of the New York Times.

The full ceremony will stream on on June 3, 11AM EST.

Advocate Channel - The Pride StoreOut / Advocate Magazine - Fellow Travelers & Jamie Lee Curtis

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

Julien Sauvalle