Ryan O'Connell, Alexandra Grey, Jake Borelli
Subscribe To
Out Magazine
Scroll To Top

LGBTQ Icon Britney Spears is Receiving This Year's GLAAD Vanguard Award

Rich Fury

Britney Spears, one of the most crucial and powerful LGBTQ icons of all time, will receive credit where credit is due as the recipient of the 2018 GLAAD Vanguard Award.

Past winners include Patricia Arquette (2017), Demi Lovato (2016), Janet Jackson (2008), and Roseanne Barr (1993). 

“An irrefutable icon, Britney Spears has entertained the world while also embodying the spirit of GLAAD’s Vanguard Award by speaking out on significant issues that face her fans—from the Dream Act to anti-transgender bills in Texas,” said Sarah Kate Ellis, President and CEO of GLAAD, in a press release. 

Spears has long been an outspoken ally—in a Love Letter to the LGBTQ Community she wrote for Billboard last year, she said: “I have a secret to share with you. You see, it’s actually you that lifts me up. Your stories are what inspire me, bring me joy and make me and my sons strive to be better people.”

Taking to Instagram to share her delight at the honor, Spears wrote today: "The LGBTQ community means the absolute world to me and inspires me every day. I am proud to be an ally and I will continue to support equality and acceptance for all!"

Take a look: 

The GLAAD Awards will take place on April 12 at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles. 

Tags: Popnography

From our Sponsors