Search form

Scroll To Top

The 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards Nominees Announced

GLAAD, the Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation, just announced the nominees for their 21st annual Media Awards, which will be handed out in New York on March 13, 2010 at the Marriott Marquis; in Los Angeles on April 17 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza; and in San Francisco on June 5 at The Westin St. Francis.

Among the nominees, which GLAAD President Jarrett Barrios says the organization feels "recognize news coverage and entertainment programming that go beyond stock stereotypes with LGBT storylines that more fully reflect the challenges gay and transgender people face and the aspirations we hold for ourselves and our families," are Tom Ford's film A Single Man, Lee Daniel's film Precious, Ang Lee's Taking Woodstock, Little Ashes, starring Robert Pattinson, Mad Men, Glee, ABC's sitcom Modern Family, Be Like Others, a documentary about transgender people in Iran, RuPaul's Drag Race, One Life to Live, The Early Show's interview with Chaz Bono, Lady Gaga (left), Adam Lambert and our sister publication, The Advocate, for Outstanding Magazine Overall Coverage.

GLAAD also announced that Cynthia Nixon will be honored with the Vito Russo Award at the New York ceremony. The Vito Russo Award is named after a founding member of GLAAD and is presented to an openly LGBT media professional who has made a significant difference in promoting equal rights for our community.

For a full list of nominees, head here.

Previously > Tim Fish Makes His X-Men Debut

Advocate Channel - The Pride StoreOut / Advocate Magazine - Fellow Travelers & Jamie Lee Curtis

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

Noah Michelson