Search form

Scroll To Top

Dustin Lance Black to Be Honored With Special 2018 WGA Award


Today the Writers' Guild of America have also announced their 2018 nominations for best Original, Adapted, and Documentary screenplays.

Today the Writers' Guild of America have announced their 2018 nominations for best Original, Adapted, and Documentary screenplays.

To little surprise, awards season frontrunners dominate, with favorites like Get Out, Lady Bird, The Shape of Water, and Call Me By Your Name all scoring nominations. The television Writing awards were announced last month.

Notably, Dustin Lance Black, the Oscar-winning screenwriter of Milk and a vocal LGBTQ activist, will receive the WGA's 2018 Valentine Davies Award for his positive impact on civil and human rights.

"Dustin Lance Black is the embodiment of the Valentine Davies Award. A tireless advocate for the cause of LGBTQ+ rights, his accomplishments in that arena have been truly profound. The Board of Directors of the WGAW considers it our honor to give him this award," said WGAW President David A. Goodman in Deadline's report.

Take a look at the full list of film nominees below:


The Big Sick, Written by Emily V. Gordon & Kumail Nanjiani; Amazon Studios
Get Out, Written by Jordan Peele; Universal Pictures
I, Tonya, Written by Steven Rogers; Neon
Lady Bird, Written by Greta Gerwig; A24
The Shape of Water, Screenplay by Guillermo del Toro & Vanessa Taylor; Story by Guillermo del Toro; Fox Searchlight


Call Me by Your Name, Screenplay by James Ivory; Based on the Novel by Andre Aciman; Sony Pictures Classics
The Disaster Artist, Screenplay by Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber; Based on the Book The Disaster Artist: My Life Inside the Room, the Greatest Bad Movie Ever Made by Greg Sestero and Tom Bissell; A24
Logan, Screenplay by Scott Frank & James Mangold and Michael Green; Story by James Mangold; Based on Characters from the X-Men Comic Books and Theatrical Motion Pictures; Twentieth Century Fox Film
Molly's Game, Screenplay by Aaron Sorkin; Based on the Book by Molly Bloom; STX Entertainment
Mudbound, Screenplay by Virgil Williams and Dee Rees; Based on the Novel by Hillary Jordan; Netflix


Betting on Zero, Written by Theodore Braun; Gunpowder & Sky
Jane, Written by Brett Morgen; National Geographic
No Stone Unturned, Written by Alex Gibney; Abramorama
Oklahoma City, Written by Barak Goodman; American Experience Films

Advocate Channel - The Pride StoreOut / Advocate Magazine - Fellow Travelers & Jamie Lee Curtis

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

Hilton Dresden