Search form

Scroll To Top
Truman Says

CFDA Announces the Nominees for the 2012 Fashion Awards


See which designers made the cut, and why Johnny Depp is being honored.

Last night, the nominees for this year's CFDA Fashion Awards were announced. For those who need reminding, this is the fashion world's equivalent to the Academy Awards. Below is a list of nominees:

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design
Pamela Love
Tabitha Simmons
Irene Neuwirth

Swarovski Award for Menswear
Antonio Azzuolo
Todd Snyder
Phillip Lim

Swarovski Awards for Womenswear
Joseph Altuzarra
Shane Gabier and Christopher Peters for Creatures of the Wind
Max Osterweis and Erin Beatty for Suno

Accessory Designer of the Year
Reed Krakoff
Jack McCullough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler
Alexander Wang

Menswear Designer of the Year
Simon Spurr
Patrick Ervell
Billy Reid

Womenswear Designer of the Year
Marc Jacobs
Jack McCullough & Lazaro Hernandez-Proenza Schouler
Ashley & Mary Kate Olsen-The Row

In addition, the CFDA will hand out special awards to people who have had a long-lasting influence on the world of fashion and style, including Johnny Depp, who will be following in the footsteps of Lady Gaga by receiving the Fashion Icon Award:

International Award: Rei Kawakubo for Commes des Garcons

Media Award: Scott Schuman & Garance Dore
Founders Award: Andrew Rosen
Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Tommy Hilfiger
Fashion Icon Award: Johnny Depp
Congrats to the nominees!
30 Years of Out100Out / Advocate Magazine - Jonathan Groff and Wayne Brady

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories Editors