Search form

Scroll To Top

Orange Is the New Black Gets Three More Seasons

Orange Is the New Black Gets Three More Seasons

Laverne Cox, Lea DeLaria, and Yael Stone in season 3 of Netflix's "Orange is the New Black."
JoJo Whilden/Netflix

Netflix’s hit series has been renewed for a fifth, sixth, and seventh season.

Netflix announced this morning that Orange is the New Black has been renewed for three additional seasons. As part of the deal, showrunner Jenji Kohan is set to serve the next three years in Litchfield along with her fellow castmates. In an official statement, Kohan said:

"Three more years! Not quite a political term, but still plenty of time to do some interesting things. In some cultures, 'May you lead an interesting life,' is a curse, but I don't live in those cultures. Here's to keeping it interesting. Thanks Netflix! Both thanks and you're welcome Lionsgate! And kudos and gratitude to the stellar cast and crew and writers and producers and editors and musicians and mixers and shleppers with whom I have the pride and honor of crafting this show."

Netflix executives have confirmed that OITNB is the network's most-watched original series. First debuting in 2013, the show has received critical acclaim and has won numerous awards, including four Emmys, and just recently, two SAG awards.

Season 4 of OITNB premieres on June 17. The core cast will include Taylor Schilling, Uzo Aduba, Kate Mulgrew, Laura Prepon, Laverne Cox, Dascha Polanco, Danielle Brooks, Selenis Leyva, Samira Wiley, Taryn Manning, Yael Stone, Jackie Cruz, Lea DeLaria, Adrienne C. Moore and Elizabeth Rodriguez Michael Harney, and Nick Sandow.

Advocate Channel - The Pride StoreOut / Advocate Magazine - Fellow Travelers & Jamie Lee Curtis

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

Xavier Piedra