Search form

Scroll To Top
News & Opinion

European Parliament Calls For All Members to Recognize Same-Sex Couples

European Parliament Calls For All Members to Recognize Same-Sex Couples


The continental legislative body is urging nine countries to improve treatment of LGBTs.

Currently, 19 of 28 member states of the European Union recognize same-sex couples in some legal capacity, from co-habitation to marriage, offering varying levels of rights and protections. However, a majority of Members of European Parliament (MEPs) voted yesterday to adopt a number of pro-LGBT resolutions, including one calling for the remaining nine countries--Bulgaria, Cyprus, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, and Slovakia--to recognize same-sex unions.

Additionally, a resolution urging increased workplace non-discrimination protections was passed, as well as one demanding penalties be imposed on government officials who contribute to the stigmatization of LGBT people.

Executive director of the LGBT rights group IGLA-Europe praised the resolutions, saying:

"Today's report is a clear evidence of the European Parliament's ongoing commitment to hold EU institutions and member states accountable when it comes to human rights. We need the Parliament to remains this driving force for human rights in the Union."

[H/T Gay Star News]

30 Years of Out100Out / Advocate Magazine - Jonathan Groff and Wayne Brady

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

James McDonald