Search form

Scroll To Top

RuPaul, Demi Lovato, Dua Lipa to Headline YouTube New Year's Event

RuPaul, Demi Lovato, Dua Lipa photos

The entire world will be watching! 

2020 is almost done.

To ring in the new year, YouTube is having a global celebration with some massive A-listers including RuPaul, Demi Lovato, Dua Lipa, Matthew McConaughey, Storm Reid, and more.

Hello 2021 will be made up of five uniquely curated shows for specific regions across the world and will feature speeches, musical performances, and of course dance parties. It is the New Year, after all!

Hello 2021 will be replacing YouTube's annual Rewind video, which was an overview and recap of the year's most viral videos, events, and trends. Given the traumatic year 2020 has been, YouTube decided to change things up.

"Rewind was always meant to be a celebration of you. But 2020 has been different," YouTube statement said in a statement. "And it doesn't feel right to carry on as if it weren't. So, we're taking a break from Rewind this year."

Hello 2021, produced by Fremantle, will air at various times on December 31 across the Americas, the United Kingdom, Korea, Japan, and India.

"With the world ready to move past an extremely challenging year, YouTube will use its global reach to celebrate the hope and promise of 2021," Susanne Daniels, YouTube's Global Head of Original Content, said in a statement. "We look forward to closing the book on 2020 and throwing a worldwide celebration that our YouTube community can safely enjoy from home."

Hello 2021: Americas will premiere on December 31 at 10:30pm ET / 7:30pm PT on YouTube. Juanpa Zurita and Storm Reid are set to host the event, which will welcome guests like McConaughey, Lovato, RuPaul, Emma Chamberlain and the D'Amelio Family. Plus, Lipa, J Balvin, YG, Karol G and Kane Brown are set to perform. YouTube stars Larray, Marques Brownlee, Dude Perfect, Brad Mondo, ZHC and the Dolan Twins are also slated to appear. More names will be announced soon.

Meanwhile, Hello 2021: UK will begin at 10:30pm GMT on December 31. That guest list includes Behzinga, Big Narstie, Katherine Ryan, Michael Coel, Kurupt FM, Yammy, WillNE, Holly H, Natasia Demetriou and many more. That will be streamed here.

Hello 2021: Korea will begin at 11:00pm KST and will be hosted by Sechan Yang and Jesung Hwang as viewers celebrate the YouTube artists and creators that helped Korean audience remain optimistic amidst the global pandemic. Some of those artists include GGILGGIL Market, Tester Hoon, Balming Tiger, and more. That will be streamed on YouTube Korea Spotlight Channel.

Hello 2021: Japan will begin at 11:45pm JST. This special virtual event will feature a never-before-seen quiz show from Japan to test your knowledge on 2020 YouTube trends and trivia. Hosted by Orutana Channel and Mochizuki Rie on YouTube Japan Spotlight Channel, additional guests include top creators Tokai On Air, Puritto Channel, Emirin, Paparapys, Skypeace, Vamyun, Dekakin, Hanaodengan, M.S.S Project, and more.

Finally, Hello 2021: India will start streaming at 11pm IST on YouTube India Spotlight Channel,. Lipa is set to perform as part of the 60-minute countdown to the New Year, which will also celebrate Bollywood and welcome the country's biggest names like Tiger Shroff, Badshah, Zakir Khan, Jonita Gandhi, Benny Dayal, Aastha Gill, and more.

Hello 2021: Americas will air on Thursday, December 31 at 10:30pm ET / 7:30pm PT on the YouTube Originals channel.

RELATED | RuPaul Is Now a Guinness World Records Title Holder

Advocate Channel - The Pride StoreOut / Advocate Magazine - Jonathan Groff and Wayne Brady

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

David Artavia