Search form

Scroll To Top
Truman Says

Hillary Clinton Presents CFDA Award To Oscar de la Renta


Other winners include Thom Browne, Phillip Lim, and Proenza Schouler

Pictured, clockwise from left: Hillary Clinton and Oscar de la Renta; Proenza Schouler's Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough; Thom Browne; Phillip Lim. (Getty)

Is Hillary Clinton secretly a fashion addict? The former Secretary of State stunned everyone at the 2013 CFDA Fashion Awards last night when she took the stage of the Lincoln Center to give the first award of the evening to Oscar de la Renta.

Presenting the designer with the Founders Award, Clinton praised de la Renta's talent and philantropic work in his native Dominican Republic. She reminisced about the first time they met, at the Kennedy Center Honors in 1993: "I was then, as I am now, such a fashion icon," she said tongue-in-cheek. Michelle O. better watch out!

In menswear design, the big prize went to Thom Browne (and his sexy short suit), who was named Menswear Designer of the Year. Newcomers Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne of Public School took home the Swarovski Menswear Designer of the Year award, which honors emerging talent in the fashion industry.

Power couple Jack Collough and Lazaro Hernandez won in the women's category for their label Proenza Schouler, and Phillip Lim was awarded a trophee for Accessory Designer of the Year.

See the full list of nominees and winners (in bold) below:

Menswear Designer of the Year
Michael Bastian
Thom Browne
Steven Cox and Daniel Silver (Duckie Brown)

Womenswear Designer of the Year
Marc Jacobs
Alexander Wang
Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez (Proenza Schouler)

Accessory Designer of the Year
Alexander Wang
Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez (Proenza Schouler)
Phillip Lim

Swarovski Award for Menswear
Tim Coppens
Todd Snyder
Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne (Public School)

Swarovski Awards for Womenswear
Erin Beatty and Max Osterweis (Suno)
Creatures of the Wind's Shane Gabier and Christopher Peters
Cushnie et Ochs' Carly Cushnie and Michelle Ochs

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design
Irene Neuwirth
Jennifer Meyer
Pamela Love

International Award: Riccardo Tisci (Givenchy)

Media Award: Tim Blanks (

Founders Award: Oscar de la Renta

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Vera Wang

Board of Directors' Tribute Award: Costume designer Colleen Atwood

30 Years of Out100Out / Advocate Magazine - Jonathan Groff and Wayne Brady

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

Julien Sauvalle