Search form

Scroll To Top
Truman Says

CFDA Award Winners Announced, Michael Bastian Takes Home Menswear Designer of the Year Award

Last night the fashion cognoscenti descended upon Lincoln Center for the annual CFDA Awards, which are basically the Oscars for fashion designers. Everyone from Anna Wintour and Lady Gaga to Anderson Cooper (who hosted) and Marc Jacobs (who was awarded the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award) were in attendance, with all the bells and whistles you would expect. Upon accepting her Fashion Icon award, Lady Gaga -- sporting a green bob, bustier dress and 12-inch platform shoes, of course -- wooed the audience by quipping, "I can't believe I'm allowed in here!" Cathy Horyn also noted an amusing exchange between the pop star and Vogue editor Anna Wintour:

[Lady Gaga] then revealed that when it was announced that the CFDA would honor her, Wintour sent her a congratulatory text message. Lady Gaga said she thought the text came from a friend of hers also named Anna, and so replied, "Yes, bitch, we did it!"

Gaga waited for the laughter to die down and added, "I got a reply that said, 'How lovely.'"

Hold on -- Anna Wintour texting? Now we've heard it all. Below are the nominees for this year's awards with the winners in bold.

Womenswear Designer of the Year
The nominees: Alexander Wang, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, Marc Jacobs

Menswear Designer of the Year
The nominees: Michael Bastian, Patrik Ervell, Simon Spurr

Accessory Designer of the Year
The nominees: Alexander Wang, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, Reed Krakoff

Swarovski Award for Womenswear
The nominees: Joseph Altuzarra, Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen, Prabal Gurung

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design
The nominees: Alejandro Ingelmo, Eddie Borgo, Jason Wu, Pamela Love

Swarovski Award for Menswear
The nominees: Alexander Wang, Phillip Lim, Robert Geller

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award
Marc Jacobs

CFDA Board of Directors Special Tribute
Arthur Elgort

Fashion Icon Award
Lady Gaga

Eugenia Sheppard Media Award
Hilary Alexander of
The Telegraph

Eleanor Lambert Founders Award
Hal Rubenstein of

International Award
Phoebe Philo for Celine

Advocate Channel - The Pride StoreOut / Advocate Magazine - Fellow Travelers & Jamie Lee Curtis

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

Max Berlinger