Search form

Scroll To Top

Annie Lennox On Her New Album, Nostalgia

Annie Lennox On Her New Album, Nostalgia


It isn’t ‘simply a saccharine journey into the past.’

A solid cover of a song combines the original's music and lyrics and the covering artist's own take on the track. So when a great artist covers a great song, you know you have something special. When Annie Lennox covers 12 of the greatest songs of the 20th Century, you know you've got something incredible.

Nostalgia, the Scottish singer's 7th solo album, features Lennox taking classics like "I Put a Spell on You," "I Can Dream, Can't I?," and "Strange Fruit" and making them her own.

"For me I went deeper," says Lenox. "Because for me, the origins of these songs are coming from the blues and blues comes from something beautiful and painful and it's the mixture of the two things, which is an area I know very well."

The former Eurythmics frontwoman chose songs that are both beautiful and have themes that are still relevant, even now.

"I want it to be relevant to today," explains Lennox. "I don't want it to be just simply a saccharine journey into the past. I want it to have resonance for what is happening today."

Nostalgia is out October 27 on Island Records and is available for pre-order. We've got the track listing below:

1. Memphis In June

2. Georgia On My Mind

3. I Put A Spell On You

4. Summertime

5. I Cover The Waterfront

6. Strange Fruit

7. God Bless The Child

8. You Belong To Me

9. September In The Rain

10. I Can Dream, Can't I?

11. The Nearness Of You

12. Mood Indigo

Advocate Channel - The Pride StoreOut / Advocate Magazine - Fellow Travelers & Jamie Lee Curtis

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

Alex Panisch