Ryan O'Connell, Alexandra Grey, Jake Borelli
Subscribe To
Out Magazine
Scroll To Top

These 48 Lawmakers Want to Legalize LGBTQ+ Discrimination


When Donald Trump’s Department of Justice (DOJ) attorneys submitted briefs to the Supreme Court in opposition to civil rights for LGBTQ+ people, they didn’t do it alone. They were joined by nearly 50 members of Congress who submitted their own brief, arguing that Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 shouldn’t cover sexual orientation and gender identity. The federal civil rights legislation extends employment protections on the basis of characteristics like race, color, national origin, religion, and sex.

In an amicus brief submitted to the Supreme Court this week, 48 lawmakers — eight Senators and 40 members of the House of Representatives — claim that extending job protections to LGBTQ+ workers could have “potentially far-reaching consequences.”

“Some of the potential effects include collateral impacts on businesses and imposition on matters of conscience,” the GOP lawmakers say. “The rights of those who claim protections for sexual orientation and gender identity must be weighed against First Amendment protections of religious freedom. Additionally, judicially broadening Title VII will likely affect the way other statutes, such as Title IX and the Affordable Care Act, are interpreted.”

If the Supreme Court sides with the Trump administration and Republican lawmakers, the implications for LGBTQ+ citizens would be colossal. It would mean an end to any hope of obtaining employment protections under existing federal law, with potential ripple effects that could affect housing, education, finance, health care, and more.

The full list of elected officials who signed onto the brief is below — along with the contact information for their office. 


Marsha Blackburn (Tennessee)

Email: https://www.blackburn.senate.gov/contact_marsha

Phone: (202) 224-3344


Roy Blunt (Missouri)

Email: https://www.blunt.senate.gov/contact/contact-roy

(202) 224-5721


Mike Braun (Indiana)

Email: https://www.braun.senate.gov/contact-mike

Phone: (202) 224-4814


John Cornyn (Texas)

Email: https://www.cornyn.senate.gov/contact

Phone: (202) 224-2934


Kevin Cramer (North Dakota)

Email: https://www.cramer.senate.gov/contact_kevin

Phone: 202-224-2043


James M. Inhofe (Oklahoma)

Email: https://www.inhofe.senate.gov/contact

Phone: (202) 224-4721


James Lankford (Oklahoma)

Email: https://www.lankford.senate.gov/contact/email

Phone: (405) 231-4941


Mike Lee (Utah)

Email: https://www.lee.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/contact

Phone: 202-224-5444


Members of the U.S. House of Representatives


Robert B. Aderholt (AL-04)

Email: https://aderholt.house.gov/zip-code-lookup?form=/contact/email-robert

Phone: (202) 225-4876


Rick W. Allen (GA-12)

Email: https://allen.house.gov/contact/

Phone: (202) 225-2823


Brian Babin, DDS (TX-36)

Email: https://babin.house.gov/contact/

Phone: (202) 225-1555 


Jim Banks (IN-03)

Email: https://banks.house.gov/contact/

Phone: (202) 225-4436


Andy Biggs (AZ-05)

Email: https://biggs.house.gov/contact

Phone: 202-225-2635


Ted Budd (NC-13)

Contact: https://budd.house.gov/contact/

Phone: 202-225-4531


Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (TX-26)

Contact: https://burgess.house.gov/contact/356345.htm

Phone: (202) 225-7772


Doug Collins (GA-09)

Contact: https://dougcollins.house.gov/contact-doug

Phone: (202) 225-9893


Warren Davidson (OH-08)

Email: https://davidson.house.gov/contact

Phone: (202) 225-6205


Jeff Duncan (SC-03)

Email: https://jeffduncan.house.gov/zip-code-lookup?form=/contact/email-me

Phone: (202) 225-5301


Bill Flores (TX-17)

Email: https://flores.house.gov/contact/

Phone: (202) 225-6105


Russ Fulcher (ID-01)

Email: https://fulcher.house.gov/contact?p=email-me

Phone: (202) 225-6611


Louie Gohmert (TX-01)

Email: https://gohmert.house.gov/contact/

Phone: (202) 225-3035


Paul A. Gosar, DDS (AZ-04)

Email: https://gosar.house.gov/contact/

Phone: (202) 225-2315


Glenn Grothman (WI-06)

Email: https://grothman.house.gov/contact/

Phone: (202) 225-2476


Michael Guest (MS-03)

Email: https://guest.house.gov/zip-code-lookup?form=/contact/email-me

Phone: (202) 225-5031


Andy Harris (MD-01)

Email: https://harris.house.gov/contact

Phone: 202-225-5311


Vicky Hartzler (MO-04)

Email: https://hartzler.house.gov/contact-me

Phone: (202) 225-2876


Jody Hice (GA-10)

Email: https://hice.house.gov/contact/

Phone: (202) 225-4101


George Holding (NC-02)

Email: https://holding.house.gov/contact/

Phone: 919-782-4400


Richard Hudson (NC-08)

Email: https://hudson.house.gov/email-me/

Phone: (202) 225-3715


Jim Jordan (OH-04)

Email: https://jordan.house.gov/contact/

Phone: (202) 225-2676


Steve King (IA-04)

Email: https://steveking.house.gov/contact/email-me

Phone: 202.225.4426


Doug LaMalfa (CA-01)

Email: https://lamalfa.house.gov/contact

Phone: (202) 225-3076


Doug Lamborn (CO-05)

Email: https://lamborn.house.gov/contact/leave-a-comment.htm

Phone: (202) 225-4422


Debbie Lesko (AZ-08)

Email: https://lesko.house.gov/contact/

Phone: (202) 225-4576


Thomas Massie (KY-04)

Email: https://massieforms.house.gov/contact/

Phone: (202) 225-3465


Mark Meadows (NC-11)

Email: https://meadows.house.gov/contact/

Phone: (202) 225-6401


Alex X. Mooney (WV-02)

Email: https://mooney.house.gov/contact/email

Phone: (202) 225-2711


Ralph Norman (SC-05)

Email: https://norman.house.gov/contact/

Phone: (202) 225-5501


Pete Olson (TX-22)

Email: https://olson.house.gov/contact-us

Phone: (202) 225-5951


Gary Palmer (AL-06)

Email: https://palmer.house.gov/contact

Phone: (202) 225-4921


John Ratcliffe (TX-04)

Email: https://ratcliffe.house.gov/contact/

Phone: (202) 225-6673 


David Rouzer (NC-07)

Email: https://rouzer.house.gov/contact

Phone: (202) 225-2731


Van Taylor (TX-03)

Email: https://vantaylor.house.gov/contact/

Phone: (202) 225-4201


Tim Walberg (MI-07)

Email: https://walberg.house.gov/contact/email

Phone: (202) 225-6276


Mark Walker (NC-06)

Email: https://walker.house.gov/contact

Phone: (202) 225-3065


Randy K. Weber (TX-14)

Email: https://weber.house.gov/contact/

Phone: (202) 225-2831


Ron Wright (TX-06)

Email: https://wright.house.gov/contact

Phone: (202) 225-2002


Ted S. Yoho, DVM (FL-03)

Email: https://yoho.house.gov/contact

Phone: 202-225-5744

RELATED | Trump to Supreme Court: It’s OK to Fire Workers For Being Gay


From our Sponsors