Search form

Scroll To Top

The Annual Emery Awards

These days it seems you can't turn on the television without slamming headlong into an award show of one kind or another. Lately everyone is in the running for something and usually it's less than noteworthy. But, while we can live without tuning into the teen equestrian geriatric skeet shooting stand up comedic competitive monologue reading homemaker awards, we've recently learned of an event that is definitely worthwhile: The Annual Emery Awards.

Kimora Lee Simmons will host the gala evening to celebrate the 30th anniversary of the Hetrick-Martin Institute, home of the Harvey Milk High School, as well as its founders and Harvey Milk. The Annual Emery Awards honor those individuals and corporations that exemplify Hetrick-Martin's mission of providing a safe and supportive environment for all young people -- regardless of their sexual orientation or identity -- along with those who have demonstrated outstanding leadership within the community. This year Hetrick-Martin Institute will be honoring its founders, Drs. Damien Hetrick and Emery Martin, and activist Harvey Milk, as well as recognizing such leaders as New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg and Dr. Joyce Hunter. Special guests include Mary Louise Parker, Rosie O'Donnell, B.D. Wong, and Cheyenne Jackson.

The Annual Emery Awards take place on November 10, 2009. The night kicks off at Cipriani Wall Street with a cocktail hour at 6:30, followed by the awards dinner and an after party. If you'd like to attend the awards or donate to the Hetrick-Martin Institute, please call Darra Gordon at 212-674-2600, ext. 277 or email For more information visit

Previously > Obama Signs Hate Crimes Act

Advocate Channel - The Pride StoreOut / Advocate Magazine - Fellow Travelers & Jamie Lee Curtis

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

Noah Michelson