The Advocate Celebrates 45 Years With 'Hall of Fame'

The Advocate Celebrates 45 Years With 'Hall of Fame'

This year, The Advocate celebrates its 45th year of publication. To put the success of America's first (and only) LGBT newsmagazine into perspective, the editors have compiled a list of 46 honorees in a "Hall of Fame" of LGBT heroes for each year, spanning from 1967 to 2012.

You can read the profiles of each of them online in a five-part series, which is a fun visual trip through major milestones in the history that many people may not be familiar with and includes activisits, celebrities, artists, and wide array of significant characters who have helped shape the world we currently live in.

The Advocate: 45 YEARS

Here's the FULL LIST (chronologically):

1967    Jerry Joachim

1968    Pat Rocco

1969    Willie Brown, Jr.

1970    Dr. Franklin Kameny

1971    Jack Baker

1972    Madeline Davis

1973    Lance Loud

1974    Elaine Noble of Mass.

1975    Oliver William "Bill" Sipple

1976    Dave Kopay

1977    Harvey Milk

1978    Dianne Feinstein

1979    Robin Tyler, Lucia Valeska, Troy Perry, Phyllis Frye

1980    Jerry Brown

1981    Billie Jean King

1982    Henry Waxman

1983    Sheryl Lee Ralph

1984    Robert Gallo

1985    David Goodstein

1986    Donna Deitch

1987    ACT UP/Larry Kramer

1988    Ian McKellen

1989    Edward Albee

1990    Bill T. Jones

1991    Patricia Ireland

1992    k.d. lang

1993    Roberta Achtenberg

1994    Pedro Zamora

1995    Roseanne

1996    Judith Light

1997    Ellen DeGeneres

1998    Matthew Shepard

1999    Tammy Baldwin

2000    Rudy Galindo

2001    Mark Bingham, Mychal Judge

2002    Rosie O'Donnell

2003    Bishop V. Gene Robinson

2004    Cynthia Nixon

2005    Melissa Etheridge

2006    Heath Ledger, Jake Gyllenhaal

2007    Hillary Clinton

2008    Dustin Lance Black

2009    Adam Lambert

2010    Chaz Bono

2011    Dan Choi

2012    Barney Frank

READ: Advocate 45 Years

Tags: Popnography

From our Sponsors