Search form

Scroll To Top
Art & Books

UK’s Stonewall Awards Announced

UK’s Stonewall Awards Announced


'Maggie & Me' author Damian Barr named Writer of the Year, while Bigot of the Year went to anti-gay Pat Robertson

For his Maggie & Me memoir, which tells of the author's tumultuous upbringing in Scotland during Thatcher's long administration, Damian Barr (pictured) was named Writer of the Year at The Stonewall Awards in London.

The awards event, which took place on November 7 in the Raphael Gallery of the Victoria & Albert Museum in London, celebrates the outstanding contribution of individuals and groups towards equality over the past year. This year we will also toast the historic passing of marriage equality.

The gay rights charity's Hero of the Year award went to parliament member Waheed Alli, and the Russian LGBT Network. The full list of winners is here:

Writer of the Year: Damian Barr, Maggie & Me
Publication of the Year: Metro UK magazine
Hero of the Year (tie) Lord Alli and Russian LGBT Network
Bigot of the Year: Pat Robertson
Broadcast of the Year: Marrying Mum & Dad (CBBC)
Entertainer of the Year: Antony Cotton (Coronation Street)
Community Group of the Year: the Quaker LGBT Fellowship
Journalist of the Year: Grace Dent (The Independent)
Politician of the Year: Baroness Stowell, for getting those marriage equality votes
Sportspeople Award of the Year: Cardiff Lions rugby club
Advert of the Year: Mamas & Papas print ads of same-sex parents

This year's judging panel was made up of Claire Harvey, Richard Madeley, Skin, Matthew Parris, Jeanette Winterson and Will Young.

Advocate Channel - The Pride StoreOut / Advocate Magazine - Fellow Travelers & Jamie Lee Curtis

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories Editors