Search form

Scroll To Top
News & Opinion

Colin Higgins Foundation Seeks LGBTQ Youth Activists

Colin Higgins Foundation Seeks LGBTQ Youth Activists

2015 winners
The 2015 Colin Higgins Youth Courage Award winners. Photo courtesy of Calvin Fleming

The Youth Courage Award nominations are due March 2.

The Colin Higgins Foundation resumes its annual search for LGBTQ teens who qualify for a Youth Courage Awards. The awards go to those who have stood up in the face of adversity and made a difference in their community. Before coming out with her own book and starring in a reality TV show, Jazz Jennings was a recipient of the award in 2012.

Higgins is known as the writer of Harold and Maude as well as the writer/director of 9 to 5 and The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas. The award celebrates those who embrace adversity with honesty and integrity, just as Higgins' work did.

Winners of the Colin Higgins Youth Courage Award will each receive a $10,000 grant, a trip to LA to celebrate with special guests, and to the 2017 National Conference on LGBT Equality: Creating Change. But nominations are due March 2, so act fast.

Advocate Channel - The Pride StoreOut / Advocate Magazine - Fellow Travelers & Jamie Lee Curtis

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

Glenn Garner