Search form

Scroll To Top

National Gay & Lesbian Sports Hall of Fame’s Inaugural Class Announced


Boxing, football, baseball: Every sport has a hall of fame. Now, for the first time, LGBT athletes and sports industry bold-faced names now have a hall of fame as well.

The new National Gay & Lesbian Sports Hall of Fame, based in Chicago at the Center on Halstead, has announced its inaugural class of athletes, teams, sports journalists, and other standouts.

The current list of inductees includes tennis legends Billie Jean King, Renee Richards, and Martina Navratilova; Olympic gold medalist diver Greg Louganis; former baseball player Glenn Burke; NBA player Jason Collins; pro boxer Orlando Cruz; former Major League Lacrosse goalie Andrew Goldstein; the Chicago Cubs; Standup Foundation founder Ben Cohen; ESPN contributors LZ Granderson and Christina Kahrl; Gay Games founder Dr. Tom Waddell;; "Bleacher Preacher" Jerry Pritikin; International Gay Rodeo Association (IGRA); and Anheuser-Busch.

"We're not just going to honor gay athletes, but other athletes who helped those gay athletes along and provided a safe haven," said Bill Gubrud, executive director and board chairman of the nonprofit, in the Chicago Tribune.

The non-profit began accepting nominations earlier this spring and will continue to do so though June. The induction ceremony will be August 2 at the Center on Halsted, preceding the nation's largest "Gay Day" at a major league sporting event, Out at Wrigley on August 3.

Tickets for the induction ceremony will be available here.

30 Years of Out100Out / Advocate Magazine - Jonathan Groff and Wayne Brady

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

Matthew Breen